- breadcrumb link
- California Ammunition Laws
For California Residents,
Online Ordering of Ammo Stops Dec. 24!
How does California Proposition 63 affect you?
In order to purchase ammunition, Californians must first pass both a background check and obtain a permit from the California Department of Justice, which lasts four years. Dealers must check the buyer’s permit before selling ammunition. This means CA residents can no longer purchase ammo online!
Individuals and businesses were already required to obtain a one-year license to purchase or sell ammunition. With Proposition 63, it is a misdemeanor to not follow this requirement. There is an exception for individuals and businesses that sell 500 rounds or less of ammunition in a 30-day period.
Large-Capacity Ammunition Magazine Ban
Citizens may no longer possess high-capacity ammunition magazines, which are specified as magazines that hold more than 10 rounds. These magazines must be surrendered by July 1, 2017, and violators still in possession could receive up to a $100 fine and one year in jail per offending magazine.
Note: This piece of legislation was temporarily halted by a federal judge before taking effect, but may still be appealed, and even has the potential to reach the Supreme Court for a final ruling.
Firearm Possession Restrictions
New procedures for enforcing laws prohibiting firearm possession by specified persons.
Registration and Permits
Requires the California Department of Justice’s participation in the federal National Criminal Background Check System.
Gun Theft & Reporting Penalty
Stealing any gun of any value is a felony punishable by up to three years in prison. Previously, California law classified stealing a gun valued at less than $950 as a misdemeanor, but Proposition 63 removes this distinction for firearms.
Dealers of ammunition must report theft or loss within 48 hours.
Individuals must report a theft or loss within five days of the theft to local law enforcement.
What is California Proposition 63?
The bill, also known as “The Safety For All Act of 2016,” made several updates to California laws regarding firearms, ammunition, and magazines. It passed on on November 8, 2016 and will go into full effect on January 1, 2018.
The following is a list of laws affected by the ballots, and when each goes into effect:
- Large-capacity magazine ban: July 1, 2017
- Increased penalty for gun theft: July 1, 2017
- Specified time frame for reporting gun theft: July 1, 2017
- Obtaining a vendor license to sell ammo: January 1, 2018
- Out-of-state purchase requirements: January 1, 2018
- Court removal of firearms from prohibited persons: January 1, 2018
- Obtaining a permit to buy ammo: January 1, 2019
For much more in-depth details, visit our blog post here: The Shooter’s Log Proposition 63
The full text submitted for Proposition 63 can be found here: All of Proposition 63
Proposition 63 goes into effect New Year’s Day 2018
January 1, 2018, is the date for the full implementation of Proposition 63 for California residents. This means that we will no longer be able to ship ammo the state of California.
The information contained in the Cheaper Than Dirt website is for informational purposes only and should not be considered legal advice on any subject matter.
California Ammunition Laws
- Refine by:
.45 ACP / Automatic(1)9mm / Luger / Parabellum(1)
Rating& Up (2)& Up (2)& Up (2)& Up (2)