Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
Magnesium Fire Starter U.S. Miitary NSN: 4240-01-160-5618 Made in U.S.A.
Item Number: ZWA-745
Our Low Price: $5.97
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3  
Page 1 of 3 (25 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Carry it always - 1/28/2014
Reviewer: Justin
You never know when you may get stuck when need a fire, keep this one your key chain. It will start a fire quickly and easily plus it lasts a long time. Great when hunting or fishing.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating MUST HAVE - 12/24/2011
Reviewer: ECC444
This is a must have for every BOB, backpack, survival kit, etc. Unlike your lighter .. these never run out of fluid. If you don't know how to start a fire using a MFS go to YouTube ... it's incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Really good unit - 11/5/2011
Reviewer: Surviving for now
These are fantastic, and sure beats rubbing sticks. Magnesium burns extremely hot, a almost retina searing white flame. This stuff will ignite anything that burns. Mine came without instructions as if from a bulk pack, no instructions, so here is some help if yours comes the same way. The method is you use a metal scraping tool (back of your Kbar is good, to shave off magnesium chunks and powder in to a small pile about the size of a quarter dollar. Then surround the pile metal shavings with other tender, perhaps set it all up on a slab of stone, bark or thick leaf. Then using the back of your knife blade scrape along the integrated rod while holding it close to the metal tender. Drive sparks into the powder and it will ignite quickly 1-3 tries is all it should take, When the metal flares push natural tender close to it to get a small flame supported, then slide the whole burning mass in to the base of of your camp fire. Get the pot ready. I bought two of these one for the cook kit and one for my admin pouch. I think two more will be in my future. if I had to bug out with next to nothing, I''d want one of these along with me that's for sure.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Must have - 6/5/2011
Reviewer: JJE
Must have remember to scrape the back to get magnesium scrappings with Ur tinder to get a good spark .....true macgyver tool lol
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating It works - 2/17/2011
Reviewer: Northwoods
Item works well, I am buying a few more to keep on hand. Made in the USA, enough said.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Fire right away - 1/14/2011
Reviewer: Jake
Hit this bad boy with the back of your knife and there is enough spark to light every wet tinder. Great tool to have any time your outside.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great Item - 6/15/2009
Reviewer: Rob
Excellent item to have in your kit. I have this along with a Blast Match. I've had these for years and I've started several fires in the most worst conditions possible and they work 100% of the time [assuming you know what you are doing]. Only issue most people face is the fact that the shavings tend to get blown away...quick fix..shield it from the wind. Takes time but works. I tried the hacksaw blade striker thing....its not as good as a knife or a metal w/ fine edge....I got a $1.99 folding blade from a gas station store and attached it to the chair....don't use your $$$$ knife. Also helps to take the striker out of the chair before using it...gives you great mobility. And CTD is the best place to get it....reliable,fast shipping. You might find this cheaper in the other site but they kill you w/ shipping costs which comes out to the same price as here.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Buy One & don't lose it! - 4/5/2009
Reviewer: Rice Paddy Daddy
Just buy one and then don't lose it. Works without fail. YOu must have a carbon blade, not stainless although you can make stainless work, just harder to do. Hacksaw blade makes it real easy. You do not have to scrape off much magnesium unless the tender is somewhat wet.Otherwise just sevral flakes of magnesium such as cn be scraped off in a dozen or less passes with a blade. Best to make a "cup" out of leaves or such to hold the magneisum so it does not blow away or your striking the flint does not hit the flakes and scatter them unretrivably. I don't know how I have not lost mine but I got it 12 years ago, but it still works although the striking steel is nearly worn away while the magnesium bar is barely used at all now. So the thing is good for precious magnesium even when the striker is gone. Just make sparks the old fashioned way with flint on steel or such and the magenisum will flare up hotter than $2 pistol!. AS Mr. Nyuen said to me "You no have water you die! You no have fire you die!"
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating 1/2 of my kit - 3/30/2009
Reviewer: Bob P
Like many others here I've used these things for years, usually lose them by lending to friends... The other item that I use for firestarting is a credit-card sized plastic fresnel lens. If there is any sun to use these will work well too. I do like the idea of the hacksaw blade; will have to add that to the kit.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating This is a good deal! - 1/10/2009
Reviewer: Dave
I just got this today along with my other things, had one before, if you start fires alot, this is good to have for back-up conditions stating the fact that matches can get wet and have no use because the sulfur would be all washed away, mean while this you can start a fire in the rain with it. If you cant start a fire in the rain, atleast with this you can dry this up with a rag or witch ever but then will still be able to be used, unlike the matches on the other hand.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3  
Page 1 of 3 (25 Reviews)
 
 
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: