New customer? Click here to login or create an account.  Click to Sign In
Magnesium Fire Starter U.S. Miitary NSN: 4240-01-160-5618 Made in U.S.A.
Item Number: ZWA-745
Our Low Price: $9.97
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3 4  
Page 1 of 4 (33 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Carry it always - 1/28/2014
Reviewer: Justin
You never know when you may get stuck when need a fire, keep this one your key chain. It will start a fire quickly and easily plus it lasts a long time. Great when hunting or fishing.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Amazing - 10/3/2013
Reviewer: Justin
This mag starter worked in the rain so easily used.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating MUST HAVE - 12/24/2011
Reviewer: ECC444
This is a must have for every BOB, backpack, survival kit, etc. Unlike your lighter .. these never run out of fluid. If you don't know how to start a fire using a MFS go to YouTube ... it's incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Really good unit - 11/5/2011
Reviewer: Surviving for now
These are fantastic, and sure beats rubbing sticks. Magnesium burns extremely hot, a almost retina searing white flame. This stuff will ignite anything that burns. Mine came without instructions as if from a bulk pack, no instructions, so here is some help if yours comes the same way. The method is you use a metal scraping tool (back of your Kbar is good, to shave off magnesium chunks and powder in to a small pile about the size of a quarter dollar. Then surround the pile metal shavings with other tender, perhaps set it all up on a slab of stone, bark or thick leaf. Then using the back of your knife blade scrape along the integrated rod while holding it close to the metal tender. Drive sparks into the powder and it will ignite quickly 1-3 tries is all it should take, When the metal flares push natural tender close to it to get a small flame supported, then slide the whole burning mass in to the base of of your camp fire. Get the pot ready. I bought two of these one for the cook kit and one for my admin pouch. I think two more will be in my future. if I had to bug out with next to nothing, I''d want one of these along with me that's for sure.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Must have - 6/5/2011
Reviewer: JJE
Must have remember to scrape the back to get magnesium scrappings with Ur tinder to get a good spark .....true macgyver tool lol
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating It works - 2/17/2011
Reviewer: Northwoods
Item works well, I am buying a few more to keep on hand. Made in the USA, enough said.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Fire right away - 1/14/2011
Reviewer: Jake
Hit this bad boy with the back of your knife and there is enough spark to light every wet tinder. Great tool to have any time your outside.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Great Fire Starter - 1/19/2010
Reviewer: Shoot
These things work beautifully. It produces a crazy bright flame. it’s a very good fire starter and I wouldn’t go camping without it.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Neat little gadget for emergencies. - 10/6/2009
Reviewer: Ken
Haven't had a need for it yet, whether camping or an emergency, thus the four bullet rating, but glad to have it for my BOB. Still, a great buy and CTD shipped very quickly once I ordered.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Old Standby - 7/7/2009
Reviewer: Charismatic Megafauna
These things have been around forever, and will start a fire with some practice and some patience. The new firesticks like Blastmatch that work on the same principle are way better, and seem to combine flint and magnesium in the same stick.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3 4  
Page 1 of 4 (33 Reviews)
 
 
© 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt! is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and FireFox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.