New customer? Click here to login or create an account. 
Category:
5 Gallon Fuel Can Case of Four and a FREE Nozzle
Steel Construction WW2 Jerry Style Cans
Item Number: ZBQ-1425
Our Low Price: $119.97
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (13 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Too thin to trust - 12/11/2012
Reviewer: Bruce A.
I bought the set of four about a year ago. The cans were poorly painted with bare metal showing on the bottoms of all four. I should have returned them, but instead took a paint brush to them to "repair" the paint. I set them aside to dry, put them back in the shipping box and there they stay. I worried that with such thin steel they might puncture from their own full weight when set on gravel. I do not believe a full can would survive being dropped from just a couple of feet onto a hard surface. I subsequently bought a 4 pack of real NATO cans for $196 delivered from another supplier. BTW, the CTD cans, as it turned colder with the can closed but empty, the contraction of the air inside caused one can to buckle. I am not sure these cans will take the pressures of full fuel and desert temperatures. Contrary to the specs, these are likely better used for storage, with a rust preventative additive, as I'd worry about actually tying these onto a 4x4 in rough country. I think my plastic fuel cans will take more pressure and vacuum.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating terrible cans - 2/26/2012
Reviewer: mike
I bought these cans for fuel storage. I do not believe they are safe to use. I had them in the back of my truck in 75 degree weather and they began to expand and leak. The thin metal is permanently deformed due to the gas vapor pressure in the sunlight. I was afraid they would burst before I could get the gas home. Be very careful if you plan to use them. They DO NOT fit in Blitz can holders. If I were a retailer I would not sell these to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Stay away of this product - 2/17/2012
Reviewer: Alek
Stay away of this product. After the first use for about a month, the paint from the internal surface is bubbled and parts of it are floating in the fuel. Not safe for your engine to use. Stay away from it.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating "NATO Style" should be your first clue - 2/7/2012
Reviewer: Jay
The price definitely reflects the quality of these cans. Mine came with rust on the inside of the pour spouts, as well as rust and slag bits floating around loose on the inside of each can. The nozzle that came with them fits (and does not leak as long as you use the included gasket), but true NATO nozzles DO NOT. I have not trusted them with fuel yet and may only use them for water. Buyer beware.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Cheap knockoffs - 1/7/2012
Reviewer: Hummer X
I have two older Wedco brand "a.k.a. The Jarry can" nato style cans that I bought years ago and just love them. Over the years I have beat the heck out of them and would like a few new ones. Unfortunately Our government has put in place a new law requiring all portable fuel canters that is to be sold as retail must be CARB compliant. Now this sucks because the spout on the CARB compliant can is much smaller and slower. so when I saw these I jumped on them. Order and got them in no time flat. Open the box only to be disappointed in the cheap flimsy metal that was used to make the can and on top of that there was no spout or spouts in the box. (Return) Save your money and spend a little more and buy the real thing.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Waste of money - 12/21/2011
Reviewer: Jason
The cheapest fuel cans I have ever bought. Obviously CTD is tryin to mislead us into thinking these were actual NATO cans, but I guess shame on me for not catching their slick marketing of listing them as "NATO style" cans. These cans are cheap lightweight sheet metal, bare steel inside, cheap Chinese paint on the outside, welds mismatched, air vent tube in one spout is welded so out of place that it is actually blocking the spout from being able to put a pump nozzle in it to fill. The welds are weak and rust was already forming inside the can. The paint began sloughing off from contact with gas. Gee, who would have expected to have exposure to gas on a fuel can. I don't believe these cans will function safely as fuel cans. If this is the type of junk that CTD is going to market, I don't think I'm going to be buying anything else fom them.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Skeptical - 12/17/2011
Reviewer: Bob
I've tried to get these for some time now. CTD seems to run out of them about as soon as they get them. Finally got mine and CTD's shipping was superb, as usual. I had gotten four NATO type cans about six months ago from another vendor. Price there was $196 with free freight and NO nozzle. These are NOT the same thing. I haven't used them yet but am skeptical as to whether I want to trust valuable fuel or even more valuble engine on these cans. I might just use for water and hope for the best. Sorry CTD..best I can say except that "the price reflects the difference in these cans and what I was expecting".
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Really BAD welding! - 12/16/2011
Reviewer: Dean T.
The welding on these NATO "style" jerry cans are some of the worst welds I've ever seen. My 14 year old welds better, there are massive amounts of slag, jagged edges, it makes me think the production company and/or production personnel have never even laid eyes on a grinder, let alone used one. The paint looks slapped on, heavy in spots, thin in others, runs all over the place. The lids are clunky at best and they barely seal. Definitely STAY AWAY from these cans. I'll be returning mine ASAP. I have real NATO jerry cans, stick with those, or if you can't find those, purchase Blitz jerry cans, I have those as well, and both the NATO and Blitz jerry cans are FAR FAR superior to these NATO "styled" cans in EVERY way. These are absolute junk and I don't trust them for fuel storage.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Cheap Cans - 10/23/2011
Reviewer: PRT91
These cans are very poorly made of thin, non-galvanized steel. They have significant rust already on the interior and are not internally painted or coated, just bare steel. The fuel spout cam-action closures bend easily when opening or closing. The free nozzle is just as cheaply made and wouldn't even engage the spout tangs so it can't be properly attached. I would definitely not recommend these to anyone. Buy the REAL Nato cans instead.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Paint inside? - 10/9/2011
Reviewer: Tom
Cans are painted inside the spout, and the paint is not meant for contact with fuel. Before I could get home and pour the can most of the paint had already flaked off or loosened up from the metal. I have to pour all the gas through a screen or filter before I can use it. Who's bright idea was this? Also, the rubber tip on the nozzle does not seal around the steel portion, leaks all over when you try to pour.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (13 Reviews)
 
 
© 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt! is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and FireFox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.