New customer? Click here to login or create an account.  Click to Sign In
Category:
Steel Punch Set 18 Piece Heated Treated Solid Brass and Steel
Item Number: WIN-146
Our Low Price: $19.97
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1  
Page 1 of 1 (10 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Brass is terrible - 2/12/2012
Reviewer: S&W M&P15
The brass bent when I barely even tapped it trying to get the roll pin out for my gas tube on my ar-15. Steel held up. I still wouldn't recommend the set unless you plan on throwing the brass in the garbage once you get it.
Was this review helpful to you? 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Get What You Pay for - 3/3/2011
Reviewer: Corey G
Bent the brass punch first time I used it, snapped a steel punch second time out, definitely won't hold up to heavy use but for someone who uses them once a year they probably will fit the bill. You get what you pay for. If you're serious pay up to get a better set.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Works - 12/22/2010
Reviewer: EvilHank
I haven't used them for any large jobs yet, but for the few little jobs I have used them on, they perform well enough. The price was right, and the bottom line is that for my needs, they work.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Engineer's Pal - 6/22/2010
Reviewer: primer
Beginners tools, they are cheaply made but work. You get what you pay for.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Not bad at all - 4/13/2010
Reviewer: scott65
This is a decent set. You get a pretty full set of punches for cheap. Sure they'll bend if you beat the crap out of them but most punches will. The vinyl case is pretty thin but it keeps everything together and rolls up pretty well with everything inside. Nothing to complain about here.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Eh. - 3/25/2010
Reviewer: albert pujols
Not too bad. The smaller ones bend rather easily. I used them to assemble an AR-15 kit, and they got the job done. The pouch that comes with them is a joke though. It is cheap as can be, but the punches themselves aren't bad. The brass one's are rather soft but that's how solid brass is. The center punch is pretty nice. It's sturdier than many others I've seen. Not sure how long the tip will last though. All together, it is worth the money.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating OK STUFF - 2/10/2010
Reviewer: Jeff
I got some for the gun shop, and they are ok. I used the smallest steel one to drift out a pin on an sks sight leaf, and the little fella couldn't take the pressure. It broke right off. Shipping isn't worth the return, so I'll just use the rest of them.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Definitely get the job done - 5/4/2009
Reviewer: DeusExMachina
As the other reviewers noted, these are "import" quality. That being said, the brass punches are pure brass and (unlike another set's reviewer noted) not just brass-plated steel. As such, you can expect that the smaller punches to bend easily. This is an inevitable downside (else they'd mar your firearm), which cost them a point. You're not supposed to wail on them, anyway, you're supposed to tap them. As noted, brass bends. The steel punches seem to hold up just fine. The vinyl organizer does its job, but I wouldn't expect it to stand up to even mild abuse. Overall, this set comes with a great variety of sizes for a good price and is highly recommended for gun owners on a budget.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating not to bad - 8/13/2008
Reviewer: c_reed2002
ive used um several times and haven't been disappointed. some of the smaller ones can bend easy but they still hold up pretty well for the price. for a cheap set i think they work great and recommend to anyone on a budget that doesn't need professional strength.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Fair - 11/21/2007
Reviewer: CBRGuy
Its import quality stuff. It works fine. I have bent most of em already and they are able to be bent back easily enough. None have broken yet. I will put em in my field pack for emergency field repairs.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1  
Page 1 of 1 (10 Reviews)
 
 
© 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt! is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and FireFox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.