New customer? Click here to login or create an account.  Click to Sign In
Category:
M1905 Bayonet M1 Garand Reproduction 16  Blade Wooden Grips With M3 Scabbard
Item Number: MGR-099
Our Low Price: $19.93
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (16 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Good stabber, bad scabbard - 11/22/2012
Reviewer: Mr. Nations
Cheap and effective with a little work. Fit my M1 Garand snugly and needed a rubber mallet to get it off. Some work with a narrow file (or Dremel if you prefer) got it into smooth operation. The M3 scabbard is a weak point, as mine snapped in half while putting it on a cartridge belt, leaving a sheath and bayonet hook/belt hook portions separated. Good stabber, bad scabbard.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Definitely a repro - 8/6/2012
Reviewer: AF-Odin
First the good regarding the CTD product: Order was delivered less than a week after ordering via the FEDEX/US Mail option. For this price, they will serve the purpose I want, which is to add to a WW-I display with my original 1903 Springfields. They are reasonably correct as far as size, weight, and gross appearance. The dates are WWII, but most folks looking at my display will not see the date. Cost was a BIG factor, as originals from CMP are $250. Now the downsides: Will take a little work to get them to NOT appear brand new (getting rid of "China" on the cross guard was easy with a Dremel). First one easily fit onto all three '03s as well as the '03A3s and Garands, but the other...let me just say that it took about an hour of work with the Dremel and constant fitting to get it on. Even with that, the second one will not fit on one of the '03s, nor on one of the Garands. Do not expect to fix bayonets and cross "No Man's Land" skewering the Hun with these (but they are sharp and quite pointy, so be careful). Would not attempt to convince anyone that they are anything but an inexpensive copy of the original. However, if you are looking to stick a bayonet on the end of that '03 or '03A3 that has been sitting in the closet since Grandpa bought it at the hardware store back in the early '60s, to give it the overall look of how these things looked in the period 1905-1943, this one will not break the bank. Just be prepared to do some fitting with your Dremel (only on the cheap bayonet, please do not touch the invaluable rifle with it).
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Read the Reviews - 2/16/2012
Reviewer: SNG
See what COL Johnson said. It doesn't fit my M1903A3. It fits the M1 Garand with room to spare though. The wood stain is uneven and marred. You get what you pay for. This is cheap, Chinese stuff. Given that a real one will cost $250+, decide what you want. I get what I paid for.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating As Expected - 2/2/2012
Reviewer: ColJohnson
I am not a collector, nor an expert. I read the reviews before I ordered my two bayonets. Frankly, for the money, I am quite pleased with what I received. Yes, 'CHINA' is prominently displayed on the hilt. However, 20 seconds with some MEK, Acetone, and a buffing wheel fixed that. The slot in my handle would not fit a 1903A3 or a 1917 Eddystone. The slot was too narrow and not long enough, by just a few thousandths of an inch. I happen to have a full shop, so that took only a few minutes to fix. This could be done with care using a Dremel tool if you don't have a shop. I'm happy.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Not Even a Wall Hanger - 11/12/2011
Reviewer: Vintage Rebuild
I wish there was a ZERO rating available. I bought this just to put on the end of a rifle for display, while my real articles are safely stored elsewhere. This bayonet is very VERY cheaply made. I found it was incompatible with the bayonet lug on my 1903, 1917, and M1 Garand. It will not mount on the rifles. I forsee this thing getting more use as a weed puller, but it will probably fall apart or rust before getting my money's worth out of it.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating NOT for serious collectors - 10/25/2011
Reviewer: echo6delta
Unfortunately, I have to seriously disagree with the product description on this one. "Only a serious collector would notice" isn't even close, and is actually misleading and false. I bought this just for fun with a few extra bucks, so I'm not totally enraged over it. It does have "CHINA" stamped brightly near the hilt, and overall the fit & finish of the bayonet itself sucks: the grips have some gaps & uneven lines, and the spring-loaded catch to keep the bayonet in the scabbard (or fix it on a rifle) is cockeyed and not 100% reliable. It'll make a great camp machete and MRE opener, but it is nowhere near collector-quality. You're getting what you pay for on this one.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Nice wall hanger - 9/24/2011
Reviewer: Old Guy
Nice looking bayonet for display or hanging on the wall. Not much good for anything else. Two problems: 1) Does not come close to fitting on my '03 or my Garand. 2) Plastic scabbard (you see this on most re-pops). It's clear that whoever wrote the product description never saw one of these, to wit: "Only serious collectors will be able to tell the difference!" It doesn't take a serious collector to notice the word "CHINA" stamped in yellow on the hilt, now does it?
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Decent Decoration - 9/21/2011
Reviewer: Cal
The lock button sometimes stays depressed, but gripping the hilt with the button pressed as far down as possible and giving it a good shake will pop the button back out. Wood pieces on the hilt are kind of loose, but they won't fall off. Main complaint is the weight and balance. Compared to originals I've handled the blade on this reproduction is almost twice as dense and heavy. That being said, it works fine as costume/decoration and can technically stick someone if you needed to, but it definitely doesn't take an expert to tell the difference from the originals.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating PRC Junk - 9/18/2011
Reviewer: Shoot4U
Reproduction, not really. Chinese trash dumped on the CTD shoppers, absolutely. Has "CHINA" stamped on the hilt. Locking lug slides out of position easily. Wood is of very low quality, and unfinished. Must be treated if you want it to last. If you buy one, plan to stick it out in the shed as a garden tool.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating excellent! - 4/11/2011
Reviewer: diver dan
I wanted the 16" bayonet for my Garand, but I didn't want to pay the ridiculous price for an original. I didn't know what to expect for $30.00 for this repro, but I was pleasantry surprised! It looks great, works well, fits better than my original 7". Even my Garand aficionado friend was impressed. They could have left off the "China" stamp
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (16 Reviews)
 
 
© 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt! is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and FireFox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.