Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ulitmate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
Rugged Knife Rough Use Knife 13.5  Overall Length Black Thick 8  Spear Point 440 Stainless Steel Blade Nylon Sheath
Item Number: DBA-445
Our Low Price: $9.97
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3 4 5  
Page 1 of 5 (49 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating can't beat it - 10/5/2012
Reviewer: Bajista
This knife is a tremendous deal. The only reason I didn't give it 5 bullets is because of the sheath, which is C-R-A-P. I would recommend the manufacturer place the secure strap higher up on the sheath and to make a kydex/nylon hard sheath, but then that would mean a higher cost, which means a higher price tag. All in all, it's a great knife that has stood up to some pretty rough use, which is what you'd be buying it for. If you want better quality, spend the money and buy a Ka-Bar. Otherwise, you can't go wrong with this one. The size and heft of it alone are worth the price. The spear point tip is an advantage as well because it's less likely to break off if torqued, yet still allows for use as a fighting blade. Again, my only real complaint is with the sheath; I'd have liked to have seen a leather one with a thumb strap higher up, near the belt loop.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating USA Steel - Made in China - 9/25/2012
Reviewer: Rule#1Cardio
I have owned this for a couple of months now. It is not yet broken. I have yet to behead a zombie with it. Hope it doesn't break then. 4 bullets because it is still intact.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Great Tool - 9/15/2012
Reviewer: The Doc
A bit skeptical at the beginning, because of the price, but once it was put to use, this knife performed as an excellent tool. Great bang for the price.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Junk - 6/5/2012
Reviewer: Rick Boyd
I waited to purchase this knife because it was on back order. I actually purchased two of them; one for my son and one for myself. When I received it, I was impressed with the weight and feel. I have to say that calling it a rugged, rough use knife is definitely overstating its dependability. I used mine three times for basic chores and it failed miserably. I was cutting some small branches out of one of my trees with it and it broke into three pieces when I cleaved it into a stump to take a break. I realize you don't get much for this price, but I expected more. I DO NOT recommend buying this knife unless it's going to be a wall hanger.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Better than expected - 2/28/2012
Reviewer: In the Bush
Bought two, the Bowie and this Spear. The spear is a time honored favorite for its battle styled bayonet inspired design. A tip for penetration in battle and defense, and a continuous hefty shank for hacking and chopping. The secret to the spear design has always been the slender, long, penetrating blade. This knife has added heft for really rough use, hacking and pounding on the back of the blade with a hammer. This knife is a good all around design, good heft and battle purpose, and for really rough use around the camp site. I foresee this blade will take abuse from hammering through wood to split kindling, bone hacking, and light wood chopping. It's not a hatchet, but will have great utility in bush. The grip is secured by a single aluminum rivet, which is probably not going to stand up to a "lifetime of use" we might want and expect, even at this price. The sheath is acceptable and made of thick ballistic fabric, which will go the distance. Two things about the knife that I like are that it did come with a nominal edge and the blade has been given a tough anti-rust coating. The coating is finished in a stippling paint and not smooth, so one can expect that the coating will add resistance to the blade passing thru materials being cut by hacking activities, at least until that stipple is worn down by use. Now, the good news is the knife is cheap! It's better than the price and I'd buy it again. Of the Bowie and the Spear, I pick the spear design for utility and heft.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Outstanding buy - 2/28/2012
Reviewer: Bob
Best deal on CTD! Check out this knife on youtube. This knife goes with me in my B.O.B. bag.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Got my bowie back - 2/27/2012
Reviewer: TiminColorado
I bought one of these in the bowie blase config first but lost it to the wife. Showed her a pic of this one and as soon as it arrived (typically fast, thanks CTD) she gave me the bowie blade back and has had a blast trying to break it. In one week she has cut everything that she could find and it still has a great edge. Gonna order some of both types as gifts. For under $10 you cannot go wrong. My wife also likes the way that the clip blade handles better, as she is quite a bit smaller than I am, and this one is easier for her to maneuver and use. Do yourself a favor and get one for the car, one for the tool box, and at least one for your BOB. CTD, please stock more of the Bolo blades. I would LLLLLLLOOOOOOOVVVVEEEEE to have one of those!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Surprised - 2/26/2012
Reviewer: BWCA-Kid
Bought the spear point for a wilderness canoe trip. Was pleased with the heft of the unit. Squeezed black silicone seal in at both sides of the hilt, to stop the handle rattle, and seal out water. Also, altered the angle of the edge to match a pocket sized carbide/ceramic sharpener. A hand grinder gave me three small serrations. Stitched up a belt loop from 2" nylon webbing w/ a quick release buckle, stitched the buckle mate to the sheaths belt loop, now have a removable drop leg option for carry. Served me well chopping fire wood from a burn area, and other camp duties. Sweet knife.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating broke blade - 2/10/2012
Reviewer: schreibmachine
After twenty throws against a straw bale, the blade broke off at the junction with the handle. I guess it's not so rough and tough after all.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating knife snap - 1/7/2012
Reviewer: tyler
the blade was super easy to sharpen but when I started using the knife it broke at the handle. I can tell you that its full tang though.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3 4 5  
Page 1 of 5 (49 Reviews)
 
 
Cheaper Than Dirt!
Cheaper Than Dirt!
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: