Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
Classic Bowie Knife Rough Use 13.5  Overall Length Black Thick 8  440 Stainless Steel Blade With Nylon Sheath
Item Number: DBA-443
Our Low Price: $9.97
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3 4 5  ...  
Page 1 of 9 (86 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Not rough enough... - 10/20/2012
Reviewer: AJ
This knife really let me down. I decided to buy it after seeing an internet video. When I tested the strength of mine, doing exactly the same work as in the video, the knife broke in half! The knife fractured right above the hand guard. No sign of fatigue cracks, just a straight line fracture. After so many good reviews, I thought this knife would have been great. Maybe I just got the lemon. The knife I received was an MTech USA 440 Stainless steel Bowie knife.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating great knife, great price - 6/26/2012
Reviewer: Classic Bowie Knife Rough Use
These won't last long for the price. This is a great knife. I wish they still had the Bolo style in stock, but definitely grab this one while you can.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Better than expected - 2/28/2012
Reviewer: In the Bush
Bought two, the spear and the Bowie. The Bowie is a time honored favorite for its frontier styled design. A tip for battle and defense and a hefty shank for hacking and chopping. The secret to the Bowie design has always been a hefty, weighty blade. This one is at the borderline of being too light. I foresee the cutaway tip will not take much abuse from hammering through wood to split kindling, etc. It's Bowie by design, but too light in heft. Grip is secured by a single aluminum rivet, which is probably not going to stand up to a "lifetime of use" we might want and expect, even at this price. The sheath is acceptable and made of thick ballistic fabric, which will go the distance. Two things about the knife that I like is it did come with a nominal edge and the blade has been given a tough anti-rust coating. The coating is finished in a stippling paint and not smooth, so one can expect that the coating will add resistance to the blade passing thru materials being cut by hacking activities, at least until that stipple is worn down by use. Now, the good news is the knife is cheap! It's better than the price and I'd buy it again.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great buy - 2/28/2012
Reviewer: Bob
This knife had excellent reviews on youtube. Couldn't be happier with it. Not pretty but works great. And like the name says- it is rugged.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating For better or worse, mine is an M-Tech - 2/24/2012
Reviewer: Inazone
I ordered this knife after watching the "torture test" on KnifeTests.com and being very impressed. Knowing that it could be built by one of many Chinese manufacturers, I was both surprised and disappointed when it turned out to be an M-Tech. I have nothing against M-Tech (I own other M-Tech knives) but I was hoping for something different, even if the specs were the same regardless of the brand. I've also seen some M-Tech fixed blade knives with loose guards and/or handles, so I wasn't sure what to expect when I opened the box. But, this knife arrived 100% intact and tightly assembled. Looking up the actual M-Tech knife on other sites, the blade coating is supposed to be Teflon. The blade is mystery 440, as is typical of cheap knives, although I own another M-Tech that are actually stamped 440C, so who knows? The handle is very "grippy" and comfortable, despite my initial reservations. The sheath is functional at best, but definitely nothing to brag about, and not likely to withstand much wear and tear. I have yet to subject the knife to any rough use, but if it can stand up to even routine cutting tasks, I'll reach for it ahead of my more expensive USA-made knives and see if it's worth ordering another.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Rambo would be proud - 2/17/2012
Reviewer: Dr. Egg
Great heavy duty knife, and sharp out of the box. Only four bullets because it was made in China. Designed in the U.S. though. This knife could easily take down Rambo, Van Damme, Norris, and the Terminator, all at once.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating love it - 2/15/2012
Reviewer: zombie guy
I know there are plenty of great reviews on this knife, but I wanted to give it my 2 cents. I love this knife. It's rugged, big, and all around great. The sheath is OK. I like the way it carries. It moves when you move, so it doesn't get caught on everything. It's kind of a pain to get the knife back in the sheath, but it just takes some getting used to. Over all, I would recommend this knife to anyone. It's a steal for the price.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Gotta buy another one - 2/9/2012
Reviewer: Tim
Just got this knife delivered. Tried it out on some pallet slats that were laying around and it split them very easily. Do yourself a favor and buy this knife. My wife took a look at it once I tried it out and now I have to buy another one for myself. I will probably pick up a few more for gifts...at ten bucks each you really can't go wrong. The only problem with the whole thing was the snap on the sheath separated the first time I unsnapped it. Nothing a little gorilla glue didn't take care of, but the sheath is not the greatest. Still, this outfit is worthy of my collection and may even replace my Kabar as my camping and hiking carry knife.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great Knife - 2/8/2012
Reviewer: MWP
This is a great knife for the money! It's extremely tough and will hold up under rough use. I have this in my BOB, and even though it is quite a large knife, it actually takes up little space. There is a hole in the handle that you can tie some 550 cord through for a lanyard. The sheath, although not near as rugged looking as the knife, does its job just fine. You can't beat the price for this great knife!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating great knife - 2/7/2012
Reviewer: alex
Great knife. It was delivered sooner than expected. It came with a razor sharp blade and is a solid knife. It's nice for people with bigger hands. Great blade for the price.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3 4 5  ...  
Page 1 of 9 (86 Reviews)
 
 
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: