New customer? Click here to login or create an account.  Click to Sign In
Category:
Grappling Hook Collapsible Steel Black 9 1/2  Overall Length 33 Foot Black Rope Included
Item Number: DBA-280
Our Low Price: $9.93
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3  
Page 1 of 3 (25 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating cheap - 12/28/2013
Reviewer: Brian
It is very cheaply made. the prongs are pressed together with a spring and allows for movement.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Not impressed - 10/15/2013
Reviewer: Scott K.
I ordered this hook maybe a year ago. Today was the first time using it for more than a conversation starter. My goal was to pull a small beaver dam out of the creek before it got very well established. On the second tug, one of the hooks bent straight up. So pulling at some brush, by hand, bent it. Not impressed.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating More than met expectations - 8/11/2013
Reviewer: Mountain Man
I was looking for a grappling hook of any sort in local stores, including outdoor stores that sell high end climbing gear. No one was able to come close to having what I wanted. When I came to CTD and saw this here, I read the reviews. With some anxiety I purchased 2 of them. My order shipped and was on my doorstep before I knew what was happening. After opening everything up, I took my kids to a local park to play in some trees. I am a 6' nearly 300lb guy, and these things held me just fine, so much so that I ended up making an impromptu rope swing with them. No bending, no signs of any thing wrong whatsoever. I have since used them many times, and they hold my weight while I am bouncing on them testing what other reviewers said about them bending and deforming. Nothing. I have used them in some pretty extreme climbing situations, and plenty of times as swings using the hooks alone to hold myself up. These things are excellent!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Ninja Rednecks!! - 6/7/2012
Reviewer: West Texan
I purchased a couple of these as gag gifts for buddies of mine. After "assembly," we came to believe this might actually support the weight of a human being (I'm not volunteering for the test run). Being armed with this grappling hook might not enable you to engage in covert operations or ninja activity, and perhaps can't even offer a hasty escape during a zombie attack, but I give it four bullets for its uses as an odd weapon, conversation piece, retrieval tool, or industrial strength paper weight! The projected 3-5 day shipping only took a day. CTD is amazing.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Obstacle Breeching - 4/11/2012
Reviewer: High Plainsman
The grappling hook and rope combination is an acceptable tool as long as it is used within its limitations and IS NOT used for purposes beyond its design and manufactured purposes. I cannot believe any sane person would even consider using this for climbing or ingress/egress! A clue should be the cheesy 'Ninja' advertising on the box! This grappling hook/rope combination is well suited for the purpose of breeching certain obstacles or the retrieval of inanimate objects from difficult locations.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Hook Up with this - 8/8/2011
Reviewer: 99Bugout
So far I am impressed. I am going to add a small 1' foot 300lb strength chain with a plastic covering, between the rope and hook. Where most of the abrasion will occur during use. From flat storage, the hook portion easily spins into place in seconds for a sturdy quad hook placement.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Would work in a pinch - 6/5/2011
Reviewer: JJE
Would work in a pinch better than a free fall and rope is sturdy would trust my weight to it. Must have in Mac gyver tool bag lol
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Awesome - 1/14/2011
Reviewer: Micheal
This is the coolest thing. We tied a tire to it and it is very sturdy. I love it. This is a great steal.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Junk - 11/30/2010
Reviewer: Treeman
The first time I used it, was to try and pull a broken limb out of a tree. The limb had broken off and was hanging loose on another limb. As soon as I started pulling on the rope, the hooks snapped off. One landed about 30' from the tree, I was unable to find the other one. I suppose that one will be lawn mower shrapnel some day. The hook is a cheap piece of junk.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating grapling hooks ok - 10/6/2010
Reviewer: fr33d0m f1ght3r
Hook is of good quality, but it's harder than you think to climb straight up. Could be used for many different things!
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3  
Page 1 of 3 (25 Reviews)
 
 
© 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt! is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and FireFox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.