New customer? Click here to login or create an account.  Click to Sign In
Category: Gun Cleaning » Rust Prevention
Gun Storage Bag No Rust No Corrosion 12X52  ProTecht Long Term Storage One Bag 6 Mil. Thick Flap Closure
Item Number: BAG-198
Our Low Price: $9.97
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1  
Page 1 of 1 (10 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Here's a hint ! - 11/24/2013
Reviewer: swamphunter
Use a vacuum sealer without the vacuum. You would be surprised what you can fit in a roll of the larger sealer bags. These No Rust bags are the correct atmosphere that you need for many types of items for long term storage. Some desiccant wouldn't hurt either if you live in high humidity areas like I do.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Not Bad - 10/29/2013
Reviewer: SYKO
These are pretty sturdy bags and I would recommend them if you are not close to a hardware store that sells the thick clear mil plastic to make your own. Like many others have said, it'd be nice if they made them either zip-lock or added some tape to close them up. I used my wife's food saver system to suck out the air and then apply a heat seal afterwards. Works for me. I've returned them to the safe and will check on them from time to time to see if any mold or rust is beginning to develop. My longest gun that still fits in these is a Model 870 Remington Wingmaster that I bought in 1972-73-ish and it has a 30" barrel for knocking geese down.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating So far so good - 2/16/2012
Reviewer: Bruce
My Mosin Nagant fits just fine. I used the pump from my air mattress to suck out the air, then sealed it with duct tape. This would get 5 stars if it had some sort of closure built in.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Very good product - 8/15/2011
Reviewer: Rickey R.
Storing several long arms in these bags and they're definitely getting the job done. Had no problem sealing the bags. Will be buying more to set aside and use if I need to store more weapons!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Worth the price - 5/3/2011
Reviewer: Airborne_Alpha-17
Bought one of these bags to store an FAL long term. The bag is made of a very thick, heavy plastic, and seems very sturdy. While a zipper might be nice, it would make it awkward to put a smaller or shorter weapon in it. I ended up just using Gorilla tape to seal mine. Only reason this gets 4 bullets instead of five is because I noticed that my FAL had managed to tear a few small holes in the end. This was easily fixed by tape, but is something buyers need to be aware of. If you break your weapon down, make sure none of the "pointy pieces" rub up against he bag too much, or it may cut a hole.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating OK, but - 3/18/2011
Reviewer: Doug
Its a good item but there is no way to seal it without using tape or some other method. Is it too much to ask to put some sort of zip lock closure?
Was this review helpful to you? 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating So Far, So Good. - 3/14/2011
Reviewer: BarD
Not sure what that this product deserves a bad rating because there in no incorporated (zip lock, adhesive strip, etc.) method of closing. As you have read from other posters there are different ways to seal the bag. I found that my FoodSaver did the trick. He is how I made it work. I took a portion of a FoodSaver bag (about a 1/4 the length of the storage bag) with both ends unsealed (this allows the machine to draw the air out of the storage bag without sealing prematurely) and put it in the storage bag with the rifle. I lined up the opening of the FoodSaver bag with the storage bag and put it in the FoodSaver, closed the lid and let it go to work. The FoodSaver drew all of the air out of the bag and sealed it very tightly. After it was done, I noticed the heat bar, which melts the plastic and seals the bag, had not completed melted the storage bag. I simply repeated the process 3 or 4 times and the hear bar was able to completely seal the storage bag. Upside, is you get the bag sealed and the weapon vacuum packed reducing the amount of internal air, condensation and room the bag takes up. The downside, you seal in a small amount of the FoodSaver bag. Other than that is seems to be holding up and working great. If my rifle doesn't rust, it is THE perfect bag and worth an extra bullet.
Was this review helpful to you? 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating No Rust Storage Bag - 7/15/2010
Reviewer: Jack
Great way to protect your investments, great to combat rust and corrosion. If you are worried about sealing it, use duct tape for an air-tight seal!
Was this review helpful to you? 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Well worth the money - 12/31/2009
Reviewer: Ultimate Sven
The instructions that come with the storage bag are very clear and informative and the instructions explain how to seal. My Mosin Nagant M91/30 fits perfectly. To seal mine I put the bag in my rifle case and then just folded the bag to seal. I love not having to worry about humidity or anything with this bag, it takes care of itself. i would highly recommend this item. I would also recommend the smaller pistol sized bag which does have a zip-lock type sealer.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating waste of money - 9/19/2009
Reviewer: tdyoung58
Don't waste your money on this piece of junk, totally useless, open ended, no way to seal the bag.... should have at least come with a twistie tie or something. How do you seal something up that has now way of sealing it?????
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1  
Page 1 of 1 (10 Reviews)
 
 
© 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt! is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and FireFox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.