Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
500 Round Box .38 Special BVAC SWC 158 Grain 500 Round Box 850 fps Target and Plinking Ammunition
Item Number: AMM-3325
Our Low Price: $366.00
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (19 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating It goes boom. - 9/30/2012
Reviewer: Shane
I ordered this for a couple of reasons. To use at the local range on some steel plates and to "gather" some brass for my future reloading efforts. It shot fine through my .357 and .38. It does put out a lot of smoke, but as long as the breeze wasn't blowing directly in my face, it wasn't a problem at all on the outdoor range. I'd probably stay away from this at an indoor range. I didn't notice any muzzle flash at all that some other reviewers mentioned. Not sure that I'll order again, unless I need a bunch of "cheap" stuff to blast through and want to gather some more brass.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Expect Clouds - 9/14/2012
Reviewer: Mark
I purchased this ammo with the expectation that it would be a good way to get familiar with a new S&W ultralight inexpensively. While at the NRA range in Fairfax, VA, I was in a 15 lane, fifty yard range with many large caliber guns firing (.460 Weatherby and 7.62x54R, and others) in a visibly smoke free environment and then realizing that I was belching huge plumes of smoke with every trigger pull. Unfortunately, I didn't notice until the end of the third reload of the five shot revolver that the range visibility was getting obscured by my tiny .38 with less than a two inch barrel! I holstered that weapon and used up my expensive 5.7x28mm with my Herstal FiveSeven pistol instead. This ammo smokes like fireworks. Avoid, unless you want a lot of smoke and like to clean your weapon.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Plinking ammo - 6/16/2012
Reviewer: Dmitriy
Very smoky and dirty, but it's super cheap, so what do you expect? Perfectly fine for outdoor range use.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Good Ammo - 5/23/2012
Reviewer: 9vMojo
Found this ammo to be accurate out of my Taurus 850. Didn't think it was so much smokey, but did dirty the gun up pretty much after 50 rounds. No other problems though. Gun cleaned up fine. I'd buy again.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Smokem but Great - 4/30/2012
Reviewer: JoeBoy254
This ammunition, as reported by others, was a little smokey and dirty, but the results on target were well above average. I shot 200 rds. and was getting .75-1.0 inch groups at 21 ft. and 1.25-1.50 inch groups at 45 ft. from a revolver with a 4 inch barrel. The casings were well sized. The accuracy of the charge and the bullet has to be spot on to produce these results from a factory load. I cannot say the same for the Remington or Winchester factory loads with the same caliber bullet that I have recently shot. Being smokey and a little dirty doesn't reflect on the quality of the bullet or charging powder. I would purchase this round from this manufacture again.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Dirty - 3/14/2012
Reviewer: Chris
This ammo is extremely dirty. After shooting about 40 rounds, my hands were so dirty they looked as if they were rubbed in charcoal. Muzzle flash looked like a musket blast. DIRTY, DIRTY, DIRTY! Won't buy again.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great value!!! - 12/27/2011
Reviewer: Gordon Biersch
Although I read the reviews and still bought the ammo. Just crossed my fingers and said what the heck. Figured the worst that would happen is that I clean my stainless 686 when I get home. The ammo was flawless and did not dirty the gun more than any other time we go to the range. It is unfair to rate this poorly just for "smokey ammo". Great value and the brass is reloadable to boot. Will buy again but I have to look into reloading in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Smoke & Oil - 5/15/2011
Reviewer: Greyhound Bus
Thank God they had no smoke alarms at the indoor range I used,thought that I was shooting at the local Greyhound Bus Terminal,thought a diesel blew exhaust out of my revolver.My fingers were Black and oily after using only 50 rounds...
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great Ammo - 5/14/2011
Reviewer: Sully
I used to reload a lot when I shot competitively when I was younger and I can tell you just because this ammo is dirty and smokey doesn't make it cheap. I used to shoot Unique powder in many of my loads and this stuff is notoriously dirty but you can achieve some of the most accurate cast bullet loads with this powder and that is why it has been around for so long. For one, it really isn't that dirty. If guys are used to shooting jacketed bullets than of course it is going to seem dirty and smokey. A lot of the smoke is from the bullet lube going from wax to liquid upon ignition. This isn't a bad thing, it is a good thing or your barrel would lead up tremendously. I shot 500 rounds without a misfire and this is more accurate than any factory load I have shot yet. Including any of the jacketed rounds. I will continue to buy this product. Cast bullets will never fail from core seperation and they punch a nice wound channel in a straight line. You want the heart or lungs just aim at them and you've got them. No worry of how much clothing or how many bones you come in contact with. Top notch ammo and they have a customer for life. Thanks BVAC for the good work and you will be getting a lot of my money because I shoot every weekend. Sully
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Smoke-um If ya got-um - 11/22/2010
Reviewer: JP
Well, I wrote the manufacture trying for a refund or few bottles of Gun Solvent but got nether one. They were concerned and sorry but that’s as far as it went. CTD said up front no returns. Yea it’s nasty and smokey. Shoots well and accurate. Have 400 more to burn. No pun on words. I purchased same case of 500 in 10 mm auto and they are terrific. Clean and great ammo. Not sure what happened here except cheap powder and/or primers. I read the reviews and purchased anyway. Shame on me.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (19 Reviews)
 
 
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: