Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
Surplus 5.56 NATO Tracer M196 FMJ 55 Grain 720 Round Can 3200 fps
Item Number: AMM-2920
Our Low Price: $475.20
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3 4 5  
Page 1 of 5 (41 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating semperfijeffb - 2/2/2013
Reviewer: J
I bought some for my Colt AR-15s, was very pleased with the brightness of the tracers. I fired 60 rounds and only one failed to light. The ammo shot well with no problems. It's US military surplus and thats always good ammo.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Meh! Good for plinking, but not much else. - 1/5/2013
Reviewer: Bob Noxious(FAST Co)
I bought some for my AR-15s, was very pleased with the brightness of the tracers at night. Day time wasn't terrible but was difficult to see. Had 47 failed lights out of 720 (5%). Cycled well. However, precision of shots was terrible. I tried them in both my 1/9 and my 1/7 and couldn't get them stabilized, and the tracer lights showed the flight path spinning, shaking and in a handful of shots, they hit the target sideways at 200m. Precision roughly 4-6 in at 100m. Overall, fun for night shoots with the grand kids and some fun, cheap ammo. Better than American Eagle tracers.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great ammo - 12/17/2012
Reviewer: Lee
This ammo is great. My AR loves it! 99% burns red, 100% shoots great!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Get over it - 12/15/2012
Reviewer: RSB376
If you don't try to shoot 5.56 out of your .223 Mini-14, it works great. Most ppl forget you can shoot .223 out of a 5.56 but not the other way around. DON'T BE STUPID and this stuff shoots fine!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating NOT EVEN LAKE CITY - 12/10/2012
Reviewer: Not pleased.
I want my money back. This Vietnam junk is awful and it's not Lake City. Had I noticed all these reviews on here before, I would not have ordered this ammo. Let it be known that this junk is OLD and will damage your rifle. Is this junk worth sending through a rifle that is well over a thousand dollars? You be the judge. This will sit until doomsday, if that ever comes, and it will be the last thing I shoot.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
2.0 Rating Danger!!! Don't loose an eye - 12/10/2012
Reviewer: Traveler2008
I got this last week (12/5/12). While shooting this out of a Mini-14, I kept feeling a burn on my face, but thought it was powder. After a few more rounds, the gun jammed. I looked down and saw a primer had fouled the breach. I cleared and shot some more, only to have the same thing happen. In all, after shooting a 30 round mag, I found 14 rounds had pushed out the primer. Now if I reloaded this round, it would be OK, as it saved a step of removing the primer, but getting hit in the face with one is a hard way to do it. I have never had ammo do this before, much less 40% of a lot.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating I got a good can - 12/5/2012
Reviewer: Griphen02
I received a can of this ammo and shot 100 rounds with no problems. I will note that I did not get any boxes that were dis-colored.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Good Stuff - 12/5/2012
Reviewer: Genral_Tojo
All of this ammo, both cans, were good stuff. No failures of any kind. Only one that I noticed didn't light up. Accurate for general shooting. I'll stick with this stuff with my Mini-14. I don't see what is wrong with some of these. I might have thought I just got a good batch, but two cans worked. Keep your weapon in good shape and it should work. 5 bullets!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Trash - 12/5/2012
Reviewer: Chris J
Like Lando, I had about the same experience. This is very dirty, oily stuff. It will gum your BCG after about 30 rounds. Only about 3 of 10 will ignite, so if you plan to use it, I'd plan to fire two per mag or something.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great Value!! - 12/4/2012
Reviewer: Brian
Great Value for 720 Rounds!! After reading reviews, I was concerned. So after ammo arrived, I quickly shot off 30 rounds casually to see how it would cycle. I had no jams and every round shot. Two or three of these rounds didn't trace, but I expected that, after noticing that some of the rounds had wear on the chemical used for the tracer, from I guess storage or shipping, but not a big deal. I have a Ruger SR556 and I think that some of these other guys may have had issues shooting these 5.56 rounds with .223 barrels. These rounds do leave residue from the tracing compound. I would recommend cleaning after shooting.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3 4 5  
Page 1 of 5 (41 Reviews)
 
 
Cheaper Than Dirt!
Cheaper Than Dirt!
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: