New customer? Click here to login or create an account.  Click to Sign In
Category:
Ammo 5.56 NATO New Mil-Spec OTMRP 62 Grain 20 Round Box  2800 fps Penetrator Bullet Lake City Brass
Item Number: AMM-281
Our Low Price: $32.40
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1  
Page 1 of 1 (10 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Happy Camper - 12/18/2012
Reviewer: DK
Just got my order of this ammo in today. Service was great and arrived sooner than expected. Only issue I have is that one of the boxes of ammo was short a round. Haven't shot this ammo yet so I will give it 4 bullets for now.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Not the same as Federal - 10/16/2012
Reviewer: Kirk
I'm no scientist, but I tested these against the actual OTMRPs offered by Federal by shooting into wetpack (newspaper stuffed into water jugs and soaked overnight). From what I could see, it did not perform nearly as well. The Federal fragmented violently, with pieces of jacket actually making their way all through the body of the jug and sticking in the sidewalls. The copper shank made it to the 4th jug and expanded to nearly 2x the original diameter. These did not fragment at all as far as I could tell. It penetrated into the 4th jug and exited out the side, disappearing into the bush. Shoots fine and is plenty accurate, but no better than FMJ, IMO.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating No problems - 10/8/2012
Reviewer: FGS
I bought 10 boxes and there were maybe one or two rounds with a little dirt on the brass. No corrosion, no dents, and all bullets were seated to the correct depth (yes, there's supposed to be a little gap). This will be my self defense and hog hunting load in a couple of my ARs.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great Ammo - 6/3/2012
Reviewer: Elliot
First of all, don't listen to the other reviewers who gave this ammo a bad rap. I've shot the genuine Federal stuff too, and as far as I can tell, the bullet is exactly the same, as well as the performance. A few dented cases isn't something to go crazy over. Also, the bullet may appear to be seated too high, but it's just the design of the round. The Federal stuff is the same. I've fired hundreds of rounds of this with no problems whatsoever. I definitively recommend buying.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Terrible - 4/14/2012
Reviewer: Mr B
Dangerous ammo. I opened the box to find at least 4 with dented cases. They look like bad reloads and I will not be purchasing anymore.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating A Major Headache - 3/31/2012
Reviewer: fish aint biten 713
First of all, I'm not a firearms know it all, but I do know it worked last night on a 450 lb hog. A head shot at about 180 yards dropped him in his tracks. I also shot a running pig in the butt and the bullet went all the way up to its head and did plenty of damage there. That was a lucky shot, if you ask me. Every shot counts and I had two dead pigs with two bullets. I've shot other ammo in my AR-15, and to me, this ammo is perfect for hog hunting. I haven't tried it on a deer yet, but I will this season. Nice ammo for the price, and that works well for me. Will order another 100 rounds, and if I keep shooting like I was last night, it might another 100 dead pigs.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Don't buy - 12/17/2011
Reviewer: Camper
Bought this ammo and was very displeased. Bullets were not seated properly. They were sticking out from the case neck about an eighth of an inch. These rounds were not sealed at the primer or case mouth. Was too scared to shoot them in my rifle. If your looking for this type of round to buy go with the brown box federal version. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Sealed on primer and case mouth and the brass was in great shape. Very clean, better than Lake City Brass. I will deff. buy more of the brown box couldn't be happier!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating very leathal deer and hog round - 12/2/2011
Reviewer: txbuckmaster01
I aquired couple of boxes of this ammo from a friend about 2 weeks before deer season opened here in texas . The ammo zeroed very well at 100yds . 5' groups from my 24' 1in9 twist bushmaster. From my 16' m4 1 in 9 I got 1.25' groups at 100yds using an acog sight . I have bought plenty more of this stuff since then . So far I have killed a nice hill country buck at 140yds and a 300 pound hog at about the same range. The hog was drt and the deer went maybe 15 yds before falling dead . Ammo left nasty wound channels and large exit holes on both animals, especially for a 5.56 round. Will buy more. And as usual made order and arrived 24hrs later thanks ctd
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Decent mk318 clone - 11/10/2011
Reviewer: M4gery
I bought a few boxes of this to compare to the real deal mk318 federal loads. I have not shot any yet, so I can't compare performance to the real deal, but the loads look pretty much the same, minus the sealant, as these loads have unsealed bullets and primers like the federal does. Seating depth has some slight variation, but it also does on the federal loads.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Decent MK 318 Clone - 9/10/2011
Reviewer: Accur81
This is decent, accurate ammo. I was able to hit bowling pins, standing, at 50 yards with relative ease with my heavily modified heavy-barrel AR with a 1:9 twist. It seems to hit as hard as my Mil-Spec brown box AB49 MK 318 Mod 0, ripping holes in the bowling pins and blasting wood from entry and exit holes. Good times. The brass is head stamped Lake City 2010, and is fairly dirty. The bullets are seated further in than AB49, which may shift point of impact, and it doesn't look as cool. That wouldn't stop me from getting more, though.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1  
Page 1 of 1 (10 Reviews)
 
 
© 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt! is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and FireFox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.