Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
Federal Lake City XM855 5.56 NATO Full Metal Jacket, 62 Grain Steel Penetrator,  3025 fps,  12500 Round Barrel, XM855BAR
Item Number: AMM-223
Our Low Price: $29.49
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3 4 5  ...  
Page 1 of 17 (161 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Good .223 rounds - 8/26/2014
Reviewer: Chris Edwards
Good rounds for a .223. Function reliably in a M-16 full auto and a Rugger full auto. Plenty of power. Accuracy seemed fine. A good buy for the money.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Best round for accuracy! - 7/28/2014
Reviewer: sailing40
This ammunition is the most accurate round. Standard .223 ammunition is good, but my Bushmaster has a special Hybrid SAAMI chamber that eats the NATO special "penetrating" round with 62 grain. I have experienced clusters of holes about the size of a silver dollar. The range we have has 18" dia. heavy plates out to nearly 450 yds that I can hit with regularity.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great Penetration - 1/27/2013
Reviewer: BZG
I love this ammo for what it was designed for, penetrating. I bought quarter inch, half inch, and full inch steel plates from a scrap yard. This ammo easily penetrated through the .25 and .50 inch plates at around 50 yards. It could not penetrate one inch of steel, but even my Mossin Nagant/M44 7.62/54mm AP rounds can't do this..
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Good shooting ammo - 1/14/2013
Reviewer: Matt
While the price was rather high (given the current political climate), I purchased a few boxes to try. Was not disappointed. Good ammo with great down range performance. I did quickly wipe down each round to remove whatever dirt or grime there may have been...and yes more than a few had some black gunk on them towards the top of the casing. Otherwise, the ammo was in good shape. And I really enjoyed sending these rounds down range.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Pro vs Con - 11/10/2012
Reviewer: Bonzano
I purchased about 200 rounds of this ammunition. I fired this ammo from a Sig Sauer 516 18" barrel with a 1:7 twist. Here are the pros and cons I found: PROS - relatively cheap (compared to ammo that has the same characteristics), penetrates very well, no misfeeds or FTFs, shoots well out of a 1:7 barrel. CONS - @150 yrds I was getting 2" groups consistently, dented brass (I have heard some brass is so dented it is unusable but I personally have not experienced this). This is good ammo, unless you want accuracy, are picky about brass, or need more wound damage. I give it three bullets because the accuracy is horrible and dented brass.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Can't beat the quality:price ratio. - 10/4/2012
Reviewer: Josh
Great stuff. It's super accurate through my AR with a 16" bull barrel. Less than an inch grouping @ 100 yds and punching holes though 1/4" steel like it's paper.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Good shooting ammo - 6/7/2012
Reviewer: Dustin
Ammo shoots well. No matter if you buy it because you want some penetrator ammo or just cheap ammo to shoot, this is good ammo. In my particular guns, it seems to be a little more accurate than most military ammo.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Good Ammo - 5/13/2012
Reviewer: BigMarv1
I have received my ammo and found no problem with it, so I am happy with getting good, quality merchandise. I have yet to use this item, but I will very soon. I am sure there will be no problems. I got this item in good time. I give 5 bullets because of how quick I got my order and the quality of the merchandise. I will be ordering this item again in a larger quantity.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Awesome - 6/20/2011
Reviewer: Don- PA
I shoot this Ammunition from my Colt AR-15 HBAR MT Rifle only occasionally to save it. I've nearly cut Steel Re-bar in two with this stuff at 50 yds. (I put a Detachable Scope on my Rifle) Anyone with experience cutting Re-Bar can attest to it's hardness and this stuff slices right through it like Butter, consistently! CTD has the Best price I've seen, so if you want to do some serious cheese making this is your stuff... it's Military grade and as good as you can get. Shoot safe. Semper Fi!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Just what I expected - 11/5/2010
Reviewer: Redneck in NY
Just like all military ammo they have defects. Some are slightly dinged or dented in the casing and a few have a little black sticky stuff like grease or a glue. Other than that it’s a good deal I think. I haven't shot them yet but they appear to all be better then what I've been issued by the army in the past. I personally won't hesitate to put any of them through my rifle but it’s always a smart idea to inspect your ammo when coming from a source like this. I wouldn't expect competition accuracy out of them but that’s not why I bought them. Enjoy
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3 4 5  ...  
Page 1 of 17 (161 Reviews)
 
 
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: