Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
Ammo .17 HMR Hornady Varmint Express 17 Grain V-Max Polymer Tip 2550 fps 50 Rounds 83170
Item Number: 87645
Our Low Price: $14.00
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (11 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Excellent and Reliable - 2/13/2013
Reviewer: Grandfather Raven
Excellent ammunition. Shoots fast and straight. Not a single misfire in over 500 rounds.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Watch out Critters!! - 9/21/2011
Reviewer: Wolverine
This ammo ROCKS! For those of you who are new to .17 HMR and are looking for the most dependable ammo on the market, you gotta get this stuff! NEVER have I had a failure to fire....NEVER!! You can hit dime sized groups all day. I use this ammo for target practice and hunting. I hope Hornady never quits making this polymer tip for the .17 HMR. It loads into the chamber well and will not hang up in my Savage .17 19BTVS. For what it is worth, every single handgun I own is ALWAYS loaded with Hornady for personal defense because I believe in their products and they have never, never let me down! This is great ammo and may be a little pricier than other manufacturers but remember "You get what you pay for". I have over 500 rounds of Hornady .17 HMR ammo and plan to buy more. Come on now! Can you have enough ammo? I didn't think so!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Fantastic as usual! - 8/26/2011
Reviewer: BSG
I've shot 1,000's of rounds of this ammo- and never a FTF. Prairie Dogs at <150 yds are one shot kills. Excellent ammo, my Savage 93V17 loves it.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating 17HMR V-MAX with the red tip is best - 11/30/2009
Reviewer: dead eye
I have a Marlin.On a good day with no wind at 200 yards it will hold a 2" group. Best darn squirrel gun I ever shot, if you can see it you can hit it.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating best ever - 8/12/2009
Reviewer: bones
this is the greatest stuff ive shot. when i bought my 17hmr i also got three boxes of this, three boxes of the cci and three boxes of the winchester all in 17 gr. they all grouped well but this stuff had a 5 shot group in less than a quarter of an inch several times again and again on various trips to the range(needless to say i bought two cases).
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Works - 7/23/2009
Reviewer: Bobby
I bought these in bulk whenever ammo started going up. I put this ammo through a savage 93R17 BTVS. I set this up with the best optics, mounts and everything i could do. I only shot this target rifle at 50 yrds and on a bad day the bullet holes wont be touching. The only problem I have with them is that they are blown all over the place. I wish I would of got the 20 grain bullets. I bought a small pack and shot them. The results were a slightly lower group but much tighter. You lose some speed but in heavier mass helps keep your bullet true to the target. I could only imagine how far they'd get blown if I was targeting more than 50 yards. Overall I like a lot, I just wish I would of gotten the heavier grain when i bought them in bulk.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Varmint Perfection - 7/12/2009
Reviewer: InToxicOne
This stuff is awesome. I've dropped 3 coyotes at various ranges with this ammo. Rabbits don't even so much as twitch when I get them with this stuff. Deadly for every kind of small critters you want to kill...
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Dead shot - 7/7/2009
Reviewer: Bernie
This round is dead on every shot. 15-lb groundhog explodes at 50 yrds. One shot kills every time. Rabbits, skunks, coon, grounghog so far. Never shot a cyote, but here they do the job. I have tried a couple other brands but none are as accurate through my Savage bolt action with the BSA sweet 17 scope. Where ever you put the cross hairs up to 125 yrds (that's my longest shot) it hits. I won't use any other round.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Great Ammo - 3/19/2009
Reviewer: EA
Very accurate ammo from my Savage, more than any other brand I have shot. I have exploded crows at 10 yds and have knocked down a turkey at 120 yds, with one shot.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating straightest shot + penitration - 2/3/2009
Reviewer: chris minix
i sat and tried several different brands v-max,cci,winchester and federal. i used these variety's to sight my center point 4-16x44 mm scope in which i recommend this scope for long range shots. and the hornady v-max shot a far straighter pattern than the other brands which they are also nice ammo. i also tested the velocity and impact again the hornady out performed the other brands. i can't wait til ctd restocks this item!
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (11 Reviews)
 
 
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: