Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
IO Inc Colt M16A1 Surplus Parts Kit with 100 Round Drum Magazine
Item Number: 8-IO-AR15100RDKIT
Our Low Price: $323.95
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (15 Reviews)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating 29 years waiting - 6/13/2014
Reviewer: PRISONGUARD1 (Retired)
I have nothing to snivel about. 1. broken butt plate. Ever watch movies? We always tapped on ground during drill and ceremony. They are old, plastic is brittle, fix it (silicone adhesives works well) or buy a new one. I did both, just as back-up 2. no barrel nut or Delta ring in my kit, I had extra from previous builds. 3. Front sight and end cap won't fit barrels with .750 gas block, I used 'F' marked sight and new triangle end cap. Trimmed Tapco front sight post to raise POI higher to compensate, trim post not threaded bottom, 25% should do. 3. handguard had a couple prongs missing,(same as ALL the ones I carried). Building %80 lower and having engraved with similar markings. Temporarily Put on lower I currently have on 20" A-2 set-up. Used all parts except trigger group and selector, because of state regs. I had an SP1 stolen from me in '85 and this is similar to that, except this has forward assist, older sporters didn't. After 29 years I have been able to replace the weapons I had stolen, and still love shooting it. Since building and testing, will now tear apart and send all aluminum out to be anodized, with off black color, as older ones were. Am very pleased with kit. If available I would by again. Supplier no longer carries, this may be last chance.
Was this review helpful to you? 
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating EXACTLY WHAT I EXPECTED - 6/4/2014
Reviewer: PRISONGUARD1
I have nothing to snivel about. 1. broken buttplate. Ever watch movies, we always tapped on ground during drill and ceremony. They are old, plastic is brittle, fix it or buy a new one. 2. no barrel nut or Delta ring in my kit, I had extra from previous builds. 3. Front sight and end cap won't fit barrels with .750 gas block, I used 'F' marked sight (shorter) and new triangle end cap. Put front sight post higher to compensate. 3. handguard had a couple prongs missing,(same as all the ones I carried). Building %80 lower and having engraved with original markings. Temporarily Put on lower I currently have on 20" stainless set-up. Used all parts except trigger group and selector, because of state regs. I had an SP1 stolen from me in '85 and this is similar to that, except this has forward assist, older sporters didn't. After 29 years I have been able to replace the weapons I had stolen, and still love shooting it. Since building and testing, will now tear apart and send all aluminum out to be anodized, with off black color, as older ones were. Am very pleased with kit. If available I would by again.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating M16A1 Surplus Parts Kit - 4/25/2014
Reviewer: Matt
This is definitely surplus gear, so the quality is hit or miss. The butt stock was cracked, and the hand guards were in pretty rough shape, but the balance of the parts are serviceable. I was especially happy with the condition of the bolt carrier group, and the 100 round mag made the purchase well worth the price.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Very pleased! - 4/21/2014
Reviewer: Bill T.
I was worried after seeing reviews from other companies, but mine was in great shape. The parts show use and have scuffs, but the only damaged part was a cracked butt plate. I was glad to see that the butt stock and hand guards were unbroken like others I had seen. All parts were there, and I am very pleased! If you want the 2 30rnd mags, don't order it with the 100rnd drum (its not a bonus) you get it instead of the 2 30 rounders.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Not all parts are useable - 4/21/2014
Reviewer: Justin
Wow! I must have received the lemon. When I read the description, I assumed all parts would be well used, but still in useable condition. That is not correct... Right forearm plastic broken in two and will not stay on gun... Buttplate top cracked right at screw hole and will not stay on gun. I called customer service and they said I could not return the broken pieces. What can I do now? Partially built A1 and am looking for replacement parts on the internet. Buying another kit seems like a waste of money to get the couple pieces I need. All other components are good. If customer service was better, I would be giving this product 5 bullets, but you get what you pay for. Some deals are too good to be true.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Satisfied - 4/16/2014
Reviewer: Mike
Received the KIT in good time. All parts are original and used as expected. Overall condition was fair to good. All furniture was in good usable as is condition, however butt stock pad was cracked and will be replaced. Upper receiver was in poor cosmetic condition but usable which will be Teflon/moly coated. Bolt was in very good condition. Found and purchased 20" pencil barrel at good price. All parts received with couple extra. Overall I would rate this a good purchase.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Hit and Miss - 4/12/2014
Reviewer: Rick
I bought two kits, I found the parts to be in very good to poor but usable condition, however the overall condition of the kits varied grately, one was in overall good to very good condition and the other was in fair to poor condition. The poor one's right side foregrip was cracked and the buttstock had numbers painted on, also some very old masking tape that had to be scraped off and the end cap was barely usable. It also was missing one of the springs and over all it was much more beat up than the other kit and will need much more work to restore. So if you're just buying one kit good luck on getting a good one because it's hit and miss. by the way I got my barrel from Green Mountain Rifle Barrel Co., for $175 including shipping, they have the right 20 inch barrel with the correct diameters in the right places, it just needs notches for the taper pins of the gas block/sight.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Worth it - 4/11/2014
Reviewer: Coils
It's surplus, so don't expect a "like new" kit. I was happy with it for the price. As some have mentioned my butt plate had a crack too, near the top screw, other than that the rest of the parts are still in good enough shape to be used. If the butt plate wasn't cracked I would have given this a 5 out of 5. I'd recommend this to anyone wanting a M16A1 clone for their collection.
Was this review helpful to you? 
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Nice Retro Build Kit for the price - 4/7/2014
Reviewer: Buddy
This is for a retro I am building to be presented to my father on Father's Day along with a photo of him back in the day (NAM). The kit is complete as described and I had no problem finding a 20 inch pencil barrel (other than the back order wait time). A bit of finish work and some part cleaning is required as parts are strait from an original rifle and put in the box. No broken or unusable parts in my kit.
Was this review helpful to you? 
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Just for show - 4/3/2014
Reviewer: Roy the Vet
Just what I wanted and what I was looking for. Yes it is well used but what M16A1 isn't! I purchased an 80% lower had Colt markings cut into it, being very careful not to copy right Colt....Great kit...........
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (15 Reviews)
 
 
Cheaper Than Dirt!
Cheaper Than Dirt!
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: