New customer? Click here to login or create an account.  Click to Sign In
Category:
Century Arms Chinese Type 53 Bolt Action Carbine 7.62x54R 20.25  Barrel 5 Round Capacity Hardwood Stock Blued RI1968-G
Item Number: 7-GM53
Our Low Price: $143.94
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3 4 5  ...  
Page 1 of 6 (52 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Chinese T53 - 3/4/2014
Reviewer: MattC
I have wanted a WWII rifle to restore and hang up but I wanted it to function. Just incase. The rifle arrived on time. Packaging was great. The rifle suffered some damage at some point but the packaging was not harmed. I contacted CTD and they took great care of me. I will be looking forward to doing business with them again. The Rifle- came covered in Cosmoline which I expected. Showed battlefield wear and tare which adds character to it to me. took me about 24 hours to clean all the grease off. Functions great. Have shot about 100 rounds through it and no complaints. Word of advice this things kicks harder than my .308 Remington. The Steel buttplate may not help that. All in all I would have given the rifle 5 stars if not arrived broken. But like I said CTD was more than willing to help me correct the error.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating type 53 - 1/21/2014
Reviewer: shooter
My dad and I purchased 4 of these hoping we could get 2 or 3 in good shape. Yes stocks were rough and metal had some rust. All but 1 was on target. All cleaned up really nice it only took some sanding, finish and some bluing. Now these guns look great and shoot as good as they look. BEWARE: if you don't work on guns then you might be disappointed in the shape they are in. My dad is a gunsmith so we both have experience.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Good to go - 12/15/2013
Reviewer: Kybar
Purchased one of these just for fun. Bore was bright and after a good cleaning it shot great. Little TLC and time these guns turn out great with a little sanding and polishing.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Mosin Type 53 - 12/13/2013
Reviewer: Alvin
I bought 2 of these at the same time a few months ago hoping to make one decent rifle out of the two. Rifles arrived better than expected condition. cleaned up the cosmoline and took to the range. Both rifles performed well. chambers, crown, bore are all in good condition. only a few nicks in the stock to be expected. overall a good deal for the price. I guess its the luck of the draw, since all of these rifles conditions vary.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Chinese surplus type 53 - 10/26/2013
Reviewer: Mayornorm
Rifle stock was better than I expected. Not a lot of kicks or deep scratches. I expect it will clean up well. The metal had a fair amount of rust I was not expecting that. I will clean it up the best I can. Bore was dirty but in good shape and cleaned up well. The bolt handle was very rusty but the rest of the bolt looks good. No matching numbers. All in all a pretty neat piece of history for not much money. I'll see how it shoots soon.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Old guns begin a new life! - 10/25/2013
Reviewer: Mike Barro
I love these old rifles!! I know you never know what shape the will be in when you get them. First thing I do is strip them, rebuild the stock cut the "extra" wood around the barrel and simi sporterized the gun, and give them new life they are great guns, although you use "iron" sights, it makes an excellent brush gun, and they are accurate!! If you can see it you can shoot it!! Besides all that, it's enjoyable to "renew" a gun. It's like taking an old Chevy Chevette and make it a working pick up. When I can afford some more, a am going to buy as many as I can!!
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Type 53 mosin - 9/22/2013
Reviewer: Dave
Picked up rifle from FFL dealer and was exactly as described. Pretty rough stock but for me it tells the history! Stock still very useable. Bore in excellent shape w no rust. Bolt was a little rusty but with a little clean up it functions fine. I have now shot well over 200 rounds through it and it functions flawlessly. Much more kick than the 91/30. Would recommend!!!
Was this review helpful to you? 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Exactly what I was told I would get! - 9/18/2013
Reviewer: Scott
I open the box and what do I see? Exactly what they told me I would get. Looked pretty rough but that's what cosmolene does makes it look ten times worse than it is. Immediately took apart and gave the metal parts a nice steamy hot water bath. Then wiped all moisture off and wiped down with Hoppes #9 then gave her a good lube down. Inside of the barrel is great very defined rifling and gleams like silver. Outside bluing is in that half way state which I think adds to the gun. Stole the wife's hair dryer and set out to bleeding the cosmolene out of the wood took about an hour of bleeding and wiping. Then took a old leather work glove and gave the stock a good rubdown to get all splintery pieces off. Was going to do a complete overhaul until I got it back together and saw the history in her... If you want a pristine mil surp gun go get something else. If you want a unique historical hard hitting truck gun get this.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating this beast a beauty - 9/3/2013
Reviewer: Gary
As everyone comments the stock is rough, but no cracks or chunks missing. Two small areas of surface rust. Bluing overall is good. Bolt operates smooth, trigger is exceptional, barrel looks like new. I got a great one, thanks CTD.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Chinese Type 53 Mosin - 8/30/2013
Reviewer: jmj75862
Item was better than pic in that it had a walnut stock in good shape, also had cleaning rod. No matching numbers on anything. Rifling was bright and strong after cleaning. Barrel had some rust in a couple of places as welll as bolt. All in all it cleaned up pretty well. Have not had it out to range report yet.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3 4 5  ...  
Page 1 of 6 (52 Reviews)
 
 
© 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt! is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and FireFox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.