Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Ammo .45 ACP Federal Hydra-Shok 230 Grain JHP Bullet 900 fps 20 Rounds 45HS
Item Number: 65887
Our Low Price: $21.75
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (11 Reviews)
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating OK stuff - 5/20/2012
Reviewer: ODENTHOR
No jams or feeding problems, but I have tried this and three other brands in my Ruger P345. They all shot low and left, except for the Federal P45HST2 230 grain hollow point.
Was this review helpful to you? 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Federal Hydra-Shock - 3/31/2012
Reviewer: EMT Tactical
I've hunted large pigs in central Florida for the last 20 years. With my stainless steel Smith & Wesson Model 4506, I am very impressed with this ammo. Wow, it has awesome stopping power! One of the most effective handgun rounds I have used. 230 grain works great. Last weekend, I shot two pigs: one at 234 lbs and the other weighed in at 356 lbs. Both pigs with one shot take downs. Small entrance, large devastation. Very humane way to take an animal. Going to get more and would recommend it to a friend. Great stuff. Like it.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating They work - 9/27/2011
Reviewer: Dan
I shot this round in a series with four others in my own home made (redneck?) test using watermelons and gallons of water with jeans over them. They performed the same as normal hollow points. Even expansion was similar. I didn't look at weight retention. They feed fine in my 1911. 1911s are known to have issues feeding hollow points. I only shot three of them though, so. Take what you will from that. These might be better for winter defense when people are wearing more than a single layer of clothing. UPDATE: These rounds function well and perform well, which should earn them a solid 4 bullets. However, after some more performance comparison, they seem to perform the same as your standard JHP round. I really noticed next to no difference. They seem to clog the same, accuracy is about the same, expansion is about the same, weight retention is about the same. So why 3 bullets? Price. I can't justify the increased price for a "high performance" round that seems to perform the same as normal JHP rounds.
Was this review helpful to you? 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating .45 Hydra shok 230 gr - 7/5/2009
Reviewer: Chris
Excellent round. Personal best choice for Glock 30. Feeds well, very accurate out of a short barrel and amazing stopping power!!! .45 caliber helps too. But all in all... very to the point bullet. Definately the leader for self defense. Thats why 9 out of 10 L.E. agencies use this brand.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating frogman - 6/30/2008
Reviewer: second best ammo ever
I have a Para P-13 and a Charles Daly 1911 and they both love this round. Like I said the second best round ever, If you want the best then get the Dynamic Research Technologies ammo. The 45acp is not on the market as of now , but the 9mm, 223, and the 300mag are currently available. CTD has the 9mm and the 223 but remember the old saying "you get what you pay for" because these are expensive but worth every dime. Trust me this is the only round that you"ll ever need.
Was this review helpful to you? 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Excellent Round - 6/19/2008
Reviewer: Kimber Ultra Carry 3"
I have used these rounds for quite some time in my Kimber Ultra Carry 3" and have had zero feeding problems. It is accurate and very good penetration as well as expansion.
Was this review helpful to you? 
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating EXCELLENT ROUND - 6/6/2008
Reviewer: WTOverdrive
I've used these bullets and the Federal Premium version of the Hydro-ShoK for quite some time. In my 1911, before I had it tuned, they did give me some issues, but it was a gun issue, not a shell issue. They never fail to chamber and fire now in my 1911, my combat commander and my Taurus Millennium. I have shot more through the Taurus than anything else and I use this gun with these shells as my primary carry choice. If you have trouble with them, get your gun tuned up and polished by a competent smith. It is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating Wonderful Cartridges - 6/2/2008
Reviewer: RockIsland 1911a1 ownr
I bought a box of these right after the purchase of my new rock island 1911 A1, and I have never had a problem with these shells. The fragment pattern could stand to be a little tighter but cant typically complain with the price. All in all i love these shells and will plan to purchase more.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating rock island arms 1911 - 4/24/2008
Reviewer: ria 1911 a1 ownwer
I bought these from my local hardware store, work great, and no feed problems. I also have them in 9mm for my Walther P99, and have not had any feed problems, and shows exellent penetration and expansion. Police also use this ammo.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Disapointed - 4/11/2008
Reviewer: cutnshotbiker
Accuracy & penetration is excellent, considering how short the barrel is on my Colt Combat Commander. However, I was disappointed in the expansion and fragmentation of this ammo. I tested on hay bales, watermelons, wood, sand bags, phone books, & even a large dog (it was attacking my wife & 6 yr old little girl, so don't send hate mail). So as far as what it would do to a person.......I guessing it would go right through them at less than 10 ft (which is the same distance as tests)........decent ammo though.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2  
Page 1 of 2 (11 Reviews)
 
 
Cheaper Than Dirt!
Cheaper Than Dirt!
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: