Cheaper Than Dirt - America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Cheaper Than Dirt - Shopping Cart
Cart (0)
$0.00
America's Ultimate Shooting Sports Discounter
Category:
Ammo .22 Long Rifle CCI Shotshell 31 Grains of #12 shot 1000 fps 20 Rounds 0039
Item Number: 64449
Our Low Price: $6.29
Ships From warehouse:

Customer Reviews

Sort by most helpful reviews
 1 2 3  
Page 1 of 3 (21 Reviews)
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
3.0 Rating Not to bad - 10/23/2009
Reviewer: Heritage Revolver
I've had good experience in dealing with snakes. There is a small creek out in the field behind the house. I killed 6 total this year the last two with this shot. I have neighbors on both sides of me within 30 ft. and not one complaint, these rounds are fairly quiet. The last snake I killed took two shots using my cheap but reliable Heritage rvolver.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating EXCELLENT - 6/22/2009
Reviewer: Dustin
Me and a buddy of mine use these constantly. For fun on field rats and mice...For a purpose on snakes and squirrels...With every shot I have made...I have made a kill...most shots ranged from 5ft. to 30 ft....
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating It depends - 4/29/2009
Reviewer: Bobby
They are for pest control as previous authors have said and the work pretty good on rats in a 15 foot range. Something like a big 6 ft chicken snake only a head shot will do. In my opinion I agree with the poster recommending solid point shot. I just took out 2 3 1/2 foot cotton mouth water moccasins pretty good size in girth from 30 ft with 36 grain remington 22 long rifle viper rounds. One was a head shot and an instant kill. I purposely hit the other with a body shot about mid length. It exposed raw meat about the size of a half dollar, He did his cotton mouth ritual and went into the brush, I think the wound will be fatal but can't confirm. For a handgun I use a 38 and I can make those accurate 30 foot shots a 22 pistol is really kind of lousy when it comes to accuracy but some are better than others.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating perfect for revolvers - 3/22/2009
Reviewer: pestless
As most others have noted, these shotshells are ideal for use in revolvers and single shot carbines. Now, if someone out there would invent an affordable revolver carbine (not those $2000 Mateba's!), or at least a revolver upper for our AR's, then we could put these shotshells to better use.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating VERY GOOD - 1/7/2009
Reviewer: Average Shooter
These bullets work flawlessly when they are used how they were desigened to be. They were made for .22 Revolvers, single shot pistols, and short rifles that indicate they are made to allows shotshells. Always make sure the manufacturer states that shotshells are okay to be fired from your gun! I have shot these shells out of a .22 revolver with a 4.75" barrel and have had awesome results. They will EASILY dispatch a fist sized rat at 20 feet with one shot out of this revolver (I've done this numerous times in a friends grain shed). U do have to aim (you are supposed to aim regular shotguns too) when shooting these, but you take out a running mouse at 5 feet but the pattern out of my revolver is only about 3 inches at that far. Shooting them out of semi-autos and bolt action rifles that are not clearly indicated for this type of shell could damage you or your rifle majorly. The long barrels on rifles actually slows down the shot and makes them less powerful or effective, hence the assumedly bad review and reports of poor performance. Also note, you are only shooting a pinch of very small shot. Use it wisely and it will do all that is needed for large rats, snakes, mice, etc..
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
1.0 Rating Don't - 11/30/2008
Reviewer: Josh in GA
Don't even bother with these. A waste of money and will only wound any snake you happen to shoot with it. I'd rate it no bullets if I could. From one foot, it wouldn't kill a large beetle. And from two feet, from a 10/22, a headshot just got me a wounded snake, flailing around. Wonderful! Just use a solid! You still have to aim! And a solid will do the job way better. Or a .410, anything. I have to kill about two snakes a year, in late summer, when they come into the yard looking for winter quarters. And I use a shovel. Rattlers and Copperheads. They don't move, they actually try to avoid striking. Just take off the head with 2-6 inches of body, then chop the head up with the shovel, so it poses even less danger, and chuck the whole thing in the woods for possoms and 'coons - they know what to do with it. Just don't use "snake shot."
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating awesome rat killer - 9/22/2008
Reviewer: theprophet
i've used these shells for rattlesnakes and rats...in both a marlin .22 rifle and walther p22 pistol it took about 8 shots to kill a 6ft diamond back, but i wasn't in an area where i would have been able to use a 12 ga and birdshot (so i grabbed the .22 rifle and loaded these shells) it made quick work of the snake at 10ft away i also used these in my p22 to take out some garage rats...one shot, one kill at @ 20ft and no damage to anything in the garage...the shot barely penetrates lumber and kept a good shot pattern with more than enough power to take out mice/rats
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating Good at what it's for - 8/13/2008
Reviewer: Pemigewasset
Know your equipment! Penetration of solid objects? Cycling auto loaders? Who in their right mind thinks #12 shot propelled by a primer is going to do any of that?! This is very good at what it does; turn your .22 pistol or rifle into a shotgun. Shotguns are by definition short range weapons which inflict multiple small wounds rather than relying on hydrostatic shock. The intended targets for this ammunition are vermin size- way smaller than varmints, miniscule compared to an adult human. I wonder what happened that required 5 rounds & 2 at point blank range to kill a mouse, since it's ordinarily ideal for that. I eliminate copperheads, cottonmouths, scorpions & neutra rats with this round from a bolt action rifle at 5-10 yards & it does well. I usually double tap, since keeping my distance from an angry venomous snake is just common sense & this stuff is cheap enough that I don't mind expending a "just to be sure" shot. The plastic tip is tender so you have to take reasonable care when cycling the action.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
4.0 Rating does what it was designed for - 8/11/2008
Reviewer: Phil
Is meant to be fired from handguns, against small pest [bird & rodent & snake], up to a MAXIMUM of 15 feet. Also fun on paper. Will NOT cycle semi-automatic weapons so they must be cycled manually. In rifles the Plastic capsule may become lodged in the barrel.
Was this review helpful to you? 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 Rating outstanding - 5/3/2008
Reviewer: coonus
Right on "Rancher". There for a minute I thought I was the only one who used a revolver for these shells. I have killed dozens of copperheads with this stuff around the farm. I keep a pistol on my tractor loaded with this ammo to kill snakes when I'm cutting hay. FYI- If you really want to have fun with this ammo shoot wasps and carpenter bees in flight. I typically shoot from 3 to 10 feet away with a 3" barrel and get about a 50% kill rate. The CCI are more expensive than other brands but contain more shot (about 150 pellets/shell as compared to about 100 pellets/shell when you shoot the crimped brass). As always make sure what's behind the insect before you fire.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 1 2 3  
Page 1 of 3 (21 Reviews)
 
 
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | © 2014 Copyright, entire contents by CTD, Inc.
Cheaper Than Dirt is a registered trademark of Direct Investments, Ltd. All Rights Reserved
This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8.0 and Firefox 15.0 with a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
Sign In
New Customer? - Create an Account
Shopping Cart Summary
Cheaper Than Dirt - Close Shopping Cart
Subtotal: